Registration is now open!


          DELF/DALF Tout public
16+ years
DELF/DALF Tout public 16+ years
                                            DELF Junior
11-16 years
DELF Junior11-16 years
16+ years
TEF16+ years

The Alliance Française offers three  types of exams and diplomas: The DELF/DALF exam, DELF Jr. (11-16 years), and the TEF exams which can be taken for a variety of academic, proffessional, and personal reasons. 

The DELF (Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française) and the DALF (Diplôme Approfondi en Langue Française) are official diplomas awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify foreign candidates’ proficiency in French. The exams are useful for school records and college and job applications in French-speaking countries.
The Exams are given 3 times per year, in March, June, and December. See  dates for adults and for DELF Junior (Middle and High School age) below.
Learn more about the DELF exams on the official French governmental page.

The Test d’Évaluation de Français  (TEF ) is a test of general French which assesses the level of proficiency in French of francophones and non-francophones alike.Created in 1998 by the Paris Ile-de-France Chamber of Commerce and Industrie,  TEF is an international benchmark test that measures your level of knowledge and skills in French. It is recognised as official proof of language proficiency by Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) as well as by the Ministère de l’Immigration et des Communautés Culturelles du Québec (MICC) for permanent residency applications, Certificat de Sélection du Québec applications and Canadian citizenship applications.  - Learn more about the TEF  on the official Français des Affaires page.

What is the DELF/DALF?

The Diplôme d’études en langue française (DELF or Diploma of French Language Studies) is an internationally recognized French Language Proficiency Certificate awarded by France’s national Ministry of Education. It consists of a series of independent assessments based on a scale of language proficiency defined in the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR), a framework used in second language learning around the world. DELF evaluators are teachers trained and accredited by France’s Centre international d’études pédagogiques.

DELF assessments exist in different versions adapted for children, teenagers and adults. All versions respect the same format and standards but content and themes vary. For teenagers, there are the DELF Junior and DELF Scolaire versions offered at four of the six CEFR levels of language proficiency. These are identical assessments;  Junior for individuals, Scolaire for schools.

Six Levels of Language Proficiency

Basic Language User
A1 Recognizes basic language ability where the user can interact in a simple way. DELF** A1
A2 Recognizes the linguistic competency of a basic user who can communicate socially. DELF** A2
Independent Language User
B1 Recognizes a language user who can manage with some independence in most situations encountered while travelling. DELF** B1.
B2 Recognizes a language user who is able to communicate independently in most situations: construct arguments, defend opinions, explain viewpoints and negotiate.  DELF** B2.
Proficient User
C1 Recognizes an independent language user, fluent, spontaneous; extensive vocabulary; clear, well-structured discourse without hesitation. DALF*** C1.
C2 Recognizes an advanced language user; precise, fluent, sophisticated use in advanced-level and academic situations. DALF*** C2. 

*Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)
*Diplôme d’études en langue français
***Diplôme approfondi de langue française (DALF)
DELF scolaire does not assess the two highest levels of proficiency in the CEFR, C1 and C2. These are assessed in the Diplôme approfondi de langue française (DALF), an assessment for advanced and adult language learners.

Why take the DELF/DALF?

Why are people taking the DELF at the Alliance Française?

"I chose to take the DALF for my personal and professional enhancement. I appreciate my education here in the U.S. but it was also very important to me to have a diploma from the French government that certifies my level of the language within the CEFR, something that is recognized worldwidee according to the common framework. I feel that the C2 diploma was a helpful element to add to my application to Tulane's doctoral program, and that it will help me in my career choices going forward - especially since I would like to live in France or a Francophone country."
Christine E. DALF C2 certified, 2019
"J'ai choisi de passer le DELF A2 parce que je voulais vraiment savoir si j'en étais capable, et continuer de progresser dans les classes. C'était gratifiant de savoir que j'ai réussi et que j'ai obtenu une accréditation dans une norme mondiale."
"I chose to take the DELF A2 because I wanted to know if I could really pass it, and to continue to progress in my classes. It was gratifying to know that I had passed and that I had obtained an accreditation by a global standard.
Shawn J DELF A2 certified, 2019

What is the TEF?

The Test d’Évaluation de Français (TEF ) is a test of general French which assesses the level of proficiency in French of francophones and non-francophones alike. Created in 1998 by the Paris Ile-de-France Chamber of Commerce and Industrie,  TEF is an international benchmark test that measures your level of knowledge and skills in French.

The TEF is officially recognized by :

  • the French Ministry of Education
  • the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
  • the French Ministry of the Interior
  • the Department of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship of Canada
  • the Quebec Ministry of Immigration, Francisation and Integration
  • the Swiss State Secretariat for Migration

The TEF assesses the candidate’s proficiency in French using a 7 level scale based on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CECRL) and the Canadian Language Benchmarks (CLB).
It  consists of 4 modules: listening, speaking, reading and/or writing

Learn more about the TEF Learn more about the TEF

Please read the terms and conditions thouroughly before enrolling.

What is the TEF?

The TEF consists of 5 parts* :

  • Oral comprehension (CO) 
  • Written comprehension (CE) 
  • Oral Expression (EO) – 2 topics 
  • Written Expression (EE) – 2 topics 
  • Vocabulary and syntax (LS)

*According to your goals and the formalities you need to complete, you can choose the TEF version that includes the tests you require.

Why take the TEF?

The TEF provides confirmation of one’s level of competency in French in any professional, academic or mobility-related context,
and in particular for:

  • Studying in France with the TEF Études
  • Obtaining French nationality with the TEF Naturalisation
  • Emigrating to Canada and obtaining Canadian citizenship with the TEF Canada
  • Emigrating to Quebec with the TEF Québec – TEFAQ

Alliance Française
de La Nouvelle-Orléans

1519 Jackson Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70130

Monday-Thursday: 10am-6pm
Friday: 10am-4pm



Follow us

Design by Monsieur Graphic. Powerd by Oncord